Review of major road building projects

Review all major road building projects and divert money towards active travel networks e.g. more coverage of safer cycling and walking infrastructure as well as better public transport links. 

Make the environmental impact a much weightier consideration in the planning process for local and national government. 

Why the contribution is important

Major road building projects in Scotland contribute to climate change, social inequality and the degredation of environment in a number of ways including:

  • Pollution from road construction and traffic.
  • Deforestation and impacts on ecosystem.
  • Encourages more car journeys leading to higher GHG emissions and more air pollutions
  • Diverts money away from active travel and public transport which is more accessible for those on lower incomes. 
  • Increases flooding due to concreting over grass area. 
  • Links up major towns and isolates rural communities which already have poor transport infrastructure. 

by BethJEco on October 22, 2020 at 03:39PM

Current Rating

Average rating: 4.2
Based on: 14 votes

Comments

  • Posted by dukespencer October 22, 2020 at 16:46

    Sorry I can't put a zero rating. Upgrading Scotland's road network is essential for the economy.
  • Posted by greenstreak October 22, 2020 at 17:43

    How about, instead of pothole patching, we insist on textile underlay of all minor roads? The Scottish Timber Transport Forum did this on minor roads in our area and they have been pothole-free for 8 years. A worthwhile investment, I think?
  • Posted by dukespencer October 22, 2020 at 19:05

    Great idea, but as always it's the cost
  • Posted by annec October 22, 2020 at 22:42

    The whole transport infrastructure needs to be rethought. We can no longer put cars and roads first with out thinking about the affect on the environment. We need to accept that use of cars has to massively be reduced.
  • Posted by nickm October 23, 2020 at 00:23

    It's proven throughout the world that building more roads generates more traffic - it's never a solution for more than a few years. We know that we should be reducing use of cars and lorries to reduce carbon emissions, pollution, damage to health and injuries.

    More roads are not in fact good for the economy of rural areas - they make it cheaper for people to travel to central supermarkets and other shops rather than buy from local suppliers. And they make it cheaper for farmers and foresters to sell unprocessed crops, livestock and logs to big centralised processors rather than to local processors who provide local employment and keep the money recycling in the local economy. If we want to rebuild local rural economies then building more and bigger roads is not the way to go.
  • Posted by Jon October 25, 2020 at 20:13

    Agree on a review of major roads though if we follow through with the idea that we need to keep 80% to 90% of fossil fuels in the ground then by the same token we need to reduce emissions from transport dramatically. Building new roads does not help that in fact, it goes entirely in the wrong direction.

    This means we need to urgently reduce the number of cars on the road and increase rail transport. Replacing all cars with electric cars is not an option as half the energy is in the manufacturing and will take years to reach net zero emissions for a new car.

    Public spending on active transport and public transport should be set at a miniumum percentage of 40% to 50% so that we have more electric buses in our towns and cities with the lions share of the rest going to maintenance of existing roads, cycle tracks, paths and pedestrianisation.

    At present in Scotland we have only a handful of towns / cities that have been designated a Low Emissions Zone. Around half the population live in an urban environment which means active or public transport should be an option, encouraged and made easier.

    Children in low air quality areas have poorer lung development with as much as 10% reduced lung capacity and a higher incidence of asthma.

    We should start from the principle that 'No level of air pollution is safe' and we need 'No Emissions Zones'.
  • Posted by DeclanM October 26, 2020 at 14:12

    Not just review - but pause! The money could re-open trainlines and stations and make alternatives much more affordable and attractive to driving cars.
Log in or register to add comments and rate ideas